Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Offices of the Government

The constitution of the Listonian Free State specifies that there are three equal, co-operative branches of government: the executive (consisting of the State President and Cabinet, collectively), the legislative (the National Assembly) and the judicial (the Constitutional Court).

Executive authority is vested in the State President, who is head of state and government. He/she is elected by a majority vote of the National Assembly from amongst its members. In practice, it is the person who is the leader of the largest party or coalition of parties. Upon taking oath, the State President resigns his/her seat and another candidate from that party's list is elevated to the National Assembly. The State President appoints the Deputy State President and Cabinet from among the members of the National Assembly, subject to approval by a majority vote. The President may be impeached and removed from office by a super-majority of the National Assembly for serious violation of the Constitution or the law, serious misconduct or inability to discharge the office.

The duties of the State President include:

  • assenting to and signing Bills;
  • referring a Bill back to the National Assembly for reconsideration of the Bill's constitutionality;
  • referring a Bill to the Constitutional Court for a decision on the Bill's constitutionality;
  • summoning the National Assembly to an extraordinary sitting to conduct special business;
  • making any appointments that the Constitution or legislation requires the President to make, other than as head of the national executive;
  • appointing commissions of inquiry;
  • calling a national referendum in terms of an Act of the National Assembly;
  • receiving and recognizing foreign diplomatic and consular representatives;
  • appointing ambassadors, plenipotentiaries, and diplomatic and consular representatives;
  • pardoning or reprieving offenders and remitting any fines, penalties or forfeitures; and
  • conferring honors.

The National Assembly has a fixed term of 5 years, but may be dissolved early if two conditions are met: (1) The State President must dissolve the National Assembly upon the adoption of of a resolution to dissolve by a majority of its members and (2) at least 6 months have passed since the National Assembly was constituted.

The Constitutional Court is composed of 11 justices (including a Chief Justice) who are appointed for terms of 15 years by the State President after consultation with the Judicial Service Commission and the leaders of the parties or factions in the National Assembly, subject to approval of a majority of the members of the National Assembly.

The Cabinet

State President - Peter Krembs
Deputy State President (portfolio for the Ministry of Energy) - Daniel Featherstonehaugh, MNA
Minister of Agriculture - William Pribble, MNA
Minister of Defense - Jonathan Rhys, MNA
Minister of Education - Gerald ap Kohler, MNA
Minister of the Environment - Sheldon Osterlitz, MNA
Minister of Finance - Lewis Tredegar, MNA
Minister of Foreign Relations - Jared Lee, MNA
Minister of Housing & Urban Development - Thomas Roth, MNA
Minister of Information - Mary von Rosenberg, MNA
Minister of Intelligence Services - Franklin Strober, MNA
Minister of Justice & Attorney General - Susan ap Howell, MNA
Minister of Labor - Jeffrey Fernwood, MNA
Minister of Public Health - Nick Jakel, MNA
Minister of Science & Technology - Eli ap Combwyd, MNA
Minister of Trade - Julian Edmonston, MNA
Minister of Transport - Diana ap Fife, MNA

No comments:

Post a Comment